Musings- Challenge #1

FYI: We’re almost 400 strong right now, ma sha’ALLAH! Keep encouraging others to join in. It’s never too late to do good deeds! Move over Oprah— the Muslims are in town!

What is notable about the hadith in this first challenge is that it is a Hadith Qudsi, distinguished by the fact that its origin is ALLAH (SWT), given to the Prophet (SAW) as a revelation. I have to admit that I’ve known this hadith for a LONG time, and have taken advantage of it too few times. In the context of this challenge I read over it again and its beauty and magnificence stirred me— ALLAH (SWT), our Creator, descends to the earth’s sky seeking to answer our prayers? Waiting to forgive our sins? Who doesn’t have sins that need to be forgiven? Who wouldn’t want to be distinguished from the majority of mankind by this act of worship and repentance- breaking the stillness of the night with his/her sincere communication to ALLAH in the sky above?

I, more than anyone else, know that it is far too easy to say these things- the mercy of ALLAH never ceases to amaze me. But, then what? What have I done to acknowledge my awe of His All-Encompassing Love and Mercy, or His Power and Punishment? What will it take for me to stop talking and start DOING???!!!

As I contemplate this deed, I want to be sure that I treat it with the seriousness it deserves. Last week there was an event I wanted my kids to go to. It started at fajr and I had to calculate in the travel time. That meant a very early wake-up call. I was so anxious, the way I used to be anxious about family vacations or holidays when I was a child. I woke every couple of hours to check the clock, making sure I hadn’t overslept. I didn’t even need the alarm- I woke up, on my own, a few minutes before it sounded, and made sure that we would be on time. I pray that I can find that same sense of urgency and excitement with this challenge.

Sleep is an enticement— but I know that we can all break the charm of sleep for the barakah and forgiveness of ALLAH. Wouldn’t it be absurd not to? So, yes, the ultimate goal would be to do this every day, and to be among those whom ALLAH speaks of in the Quran:

The slaves of the Beneficent are they who walk upon the earth in humbleness, and when the ignorant address them, they say: ‘Peace’ and they who spend the night prostrating before their Lord and standing.” -Al-Furqan: 63-64

The challenge, however, is to accomplish this at least ONCE between now and next Friday! Like I said, ALLAH is the Most Gracious and Most Merciful, and His magnanimity abounds should we fail to wake:

“Upon going to sleep, one should make the intention to perform the tahajjud prayers. Abu ad-Darda’ relates that the Prophet (SAW) said: “Whoever goes to his bed with the intention of getting up and praying during the night, and sleep overcomes him until the morning comes, he will have recorded for him what he had intended, and his sleep will be a charity for him from his Lord.” This is related by an-Nasa’i and ibn Majah with a sahih chain.

But do not take advantage of His mercy! I look forward to hearing of others’ experiences, insha’ALLAH, so that we may learn from one another and serve as spiritual buoys for one another. Remember— challenge yourself. Seek ALLAH’s guidance and ask him to give you the strength and commitment to seek His pleasure and rewards. May ALLAH (SWT) make it easy and beneficial for us, answer our du’aa, reward our efforts, and elevate our iman. Ameen.

~ by deedschallenge on February 22, 2008.

2 Responses to “Musings- Challenge #1”

  1. I pray that Allah purifies our hearts and intentions, so we may be up to the challenge. I am exempt from prayer right now , but hope to be able to complete this good deed before Friday. Although I am exempt from prayer, I can still make duaa. Last night I felt my bed shaking, I thought my husband was tossing and turning, he wasn’t. I woke up and made duaa. I believe Allah The Merciful bestowed on this humble servant a wake-up and remember Me call. I pray that Allah help each and every one of us to rise up to these challenges, and reward sister Gena for such a great idea.

  2. Ameen to your du’aa. Ma sha’ALLAH, what a blessing to have had the taqwa and iman to recognize this, and for having taken advantage of it in the best way, insha’ALLAH. Jazaki ALLAHU khairan for sharing your experiences.

Leave a Reply

 
