Great insight from another challenger, and my apologies

It wasn’t until this challenger wrote me that I recognized my error, and though my intention was a good one, it was misguided- I apologize. The challenger wrote:

“Alhamdulillah, Allah has sufficed us with du’aas and prayers in the sunnah of His Prophet, and while it’s certainly ok to make your own “homemade” duaa, to spread them to others and encourage others to make them (while neglecting the ones found in the sunnah — and one will be forced to neglect them because even if you sit and make du’aa for all of the 24 hours in the day, you will not be able to complete the du’aas found in the Sunnah!) is not from the way of the Sahabah.”

This person is COMPLETELY correct. I should have encouraged you to make du’a from the Quran and Sunnah. I’m a sucker for written composition and the beauty of words. That’s my very dangerous achilles heel and I should have been more vigilant about the advice that I was giving. My sincerest thanks to the challenger who called me on my error, and may ALLAH protect us from being misguided from The Straight Path. Ameen.

Though some people replied that the du’a videos were helpful, I would remind them that these are not du’a from the Quran and Sunnah. They seem to be “homemade” dua, as the challenger points out. Although they are beautiful, and can be expressed genuinely and sincerely, they should not replace the du’a that ALLAH (SWT) has given to us through His Book, or through his Messengers and Prophets. Something I love to do is make particular du’a based on the situation. For example, if I am about to go into an important meeting, I make the du’a that Musa (AS) made before he confronted Firaun, or that Dawud (AS) made before fighting Jalut. If I am in a horrible mess of a situation, I make the du’a of Yunus (AS) when he was imprisoned inside the whale.

Please forgive me for my short-sightedness and for not having thought through my advice completely.

Jazak ALLAHu khairan…

~ by deedschallenge on May 9, 2008.

One Response to “Great insight from another challenger, and my apologies”

  1. A very good point. There’s is a du’aa for EVERYTHING in the Quran and Sunnah. This is not to say you can’t make du’aa for something specific or particular to you. As you said, if in a bad situation you can make du’aa of Yunus, and then just make general du’aa asking Allah to open a door for you and get you out of the situation, etc.

    One AMAZING book about du’aa is: Du’aa, Weapon of the Believer. An excellent book that covers everything you need to know about du’aa. It’s by Yasir Qadhi.

Leave a Reply

 
