Challenge #18

bff Is there someone you’ve been meaning to call, visit or write, but just haven’t. Let me rephrase that. Maybe you just couldn’t be bothered? That sounds harsh, but that might be what your friend, neighbor, or relative is thinking. Is that how you really feel about them?

I was having a conversation the other day with a sister who was confident enough to ask me why people don’t return phone calls or call their “friends.” I made excuses for all the people like me out there who don’t call their “friends,” even though I really do love and respect them. To some degree, I stand by my defense (explanation)- that by the time I’ve got my children down for the night, I just want to be by myself. I don’t want to talk to anyone; I’m too tired to talk to myself. BUT, that doesn’t mean I can’t make an effort once in a while.

Call, write, or visit someone who you feel you’ve been ignoring/neglecting for a while.  Don’t make excuses. Just say,  “I was thinking of you.” Don’t wait. It’s part and parcel of our faith to keep strong ties and relations (taken from: http://www.crescentlife.com/youth%20matters/islam_and_friendship.htm):

Sealing a friendship for Allah’s sake will result in one’s receiving protection of Allah (swt). And as Ibn Abbas said: “No one may taste true faith except by this (i.e. building relationships for Allah’s sake), even if his prayers and fasts are many. People have come to build their relationship around the concerns of the world, but it will not benefit them in any way.”

A scholar has said: “To seal a friendship for Allah’s sake indicates the obligation of establishing relationships of love and trust for His sake; this is a friendship for the sake of Allah. It also indicates that simple affection is not enough here; indeed what is meant is a love based upon alliance. This entails assistance, honor, and respect. It means being with those whom you love both in word and deed.” Loyalty for the sake of Allah really means to love Allah and to come to the assistance of His Deen; to love those who are obedient to Him and to come to their help. Moreover, the Shahadah “La Ilaha Illa Allah” requires us to ally ourselves for the sake of Allah, and it requires us to ally ourselves to the Muslims wherever we find them.

~ by deedschallenge on December 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
